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The Wisconsin Department of Commerce proposes an order to amend ch. Comm 2, Comm 
5.02 (5) and Comm 5.02 Table Comm 5.02, relating to program revenue fees, and affecting small 

businesses. 
 

 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

 
ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
 
1.  Statutes Interpreted. 

 
 Sections 101.19 and 145.08, Stats. 

 
 
2.  Statutory Authority. 

 
 Sections 101.19 and 145.08, Stats. 

 
 
3.  Related Statute or Rule. 

 
 None 

 
 
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority. 

 
 Chapters 101 and 145, Stats., grant the department general authority for the purpose of 

protecting public health, safety and welfare by establishing standards and regulatory oversight 
programs for the construction and maintenance of buildings, structures and dwellings and their 
components.  These programs are administered by the Safety and Buildings Division.  Sections 

101.19 and 145.08, Stats., grant the department authority to promulgate rules to fix and collect fees 
that reflect the cost of providing these programs. 

 
 
5.  Summary of Proposed Rules. 

 
The Division of Safety and Buildings within the Department of Commerce is responsible for 

administering and enforcing safety and health rules relating to the construction and inspection of 
dwellings, public buildings and places of employment.  In the administration and enforcement of 
those rules, the Department provides numerous services such as plan examination, inspection and 

certification.  The Department, by rule promulgated under chapter 227 of the Wisconsin Statutes, is 
required to fix and collect fees which should, as closely as possible, equal the cost of providing 

those services. 
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Most of the fees charged by the Division of Safety and Buildings are specified in chapter 

Comm 2.  Additional fees for licenses, certification and registration are specified in chapter Comm 
5.  Many of the fee increases proposed fall under the scope of chapter Comm 2 and some of the fees 
are regarding chapter Comm 5.   

 
The proposed rules contain fee increases for the following program areas:  amusement rides 

and ski tows; boilers, gas systems and mechanical refrigeration; commercial buildings; elevators 
and lifting devices; plumbing systems plan review; public swimming, water attractions and 
associated slides; private onsite wastewater treatment system plan and product review; soil 

erosion/stormwater management; 1&2 family dwellings and manufactured homes/housing; rental 
weatherization, and licenses certifications and registrations. 

 
The proposed changes are necessary in order to bring revenues more in line with the costs of 

providing the services in each program area.   The fee increases proposed would result in an overall 

increase in revenue of 17% and provide sufficient revenue for a 4 year period.  Some fees would 
decrease (e.g., certain amusement ride program fees), and not all fees within program areas for 

which fee increases are proposed would increase.  The fee increases proposed range from 6 percent 
to 700 percent. (In one case a $25 fee changing to $200.)  Many fees contained in this proposal are 
based on a rate of $80 per hour, except for amusement ride and ski tow activities, which are based 

on $70 per hour. 
 

In some program areas, the current fees would remain unchanged.  The program area fees 
that are not being changed include: electrical, mine inspection, permit to operate fees in boiler and 
elevators, certain licensing fees.  A general fee increase last occurred in September 2000, except for 

POWTS- and UDC-related fees, which were last updated in 1992.  
 

Amusement Rides 

 The plan examination fee for new amusement ride tramways, and the fee for the review of 

engineering analysis and test data associated with the acceptance of amusement rides and 
bungee jumping sites, would increase from $220 to $280, a 27 percent increase. 

 Fees for the periodic inspection of amusement rides would increase 11 percent overall. 

 The fee for the periodic inspection of bungee jumping sites would be charged according to s. 
Comm 2.20 (1) (f), Inspection of Class 2 amusement rides, thereby decreasing the fee from 

$800 to $250. 

 The fee for the annual registration of all amusement rides would increase from $50 to $55, a 

10 percent increase.   
 

Passenger Ropeways 

 Fees for the inspection of passenger ropeways, indicated in Table 2.21-2, would decrease by 
29 percent. 

 Plan examination fees for passenger ropeways, indicated in Table 2.21-1, would remain 
unchanged. 

 The fee for a permit to operate a passenger ropeway would remain unchanged at $35. 
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Boilers, Gas Systems, and Mechanical Refrigeration 

 Pressure vessel inspection fee increases would range from 33 to 58 percent 

 Inspection fees for boilers would generally increase 50 percent. 

 The fee for plan review of gas systems would increase from $200 to $300, a 50 percent 
increase; the inspection fee for gas systems would increase from $250 to $400, a 60 percent 

increase. 

 The plan review, initial inspection and period inspection fees for anhydrous ammonia 

systems and storage facilities would generally increase 50 percent. 

 Mechanical refrigeration inspection fees would generally increase 50 percent. 

 Anhydrous ammonia system nurse tank periodic inspection fee increases would range from 
31 to 100 percent. 

 The fee for a permit to operate a boiler, pressure vessel, anhydrous ammonia system and 

mechanical refrigeration would remain unchanged at $35. 
 

Commercial Buildings 

 The fees for building plan review under ch. Comm 61 would increase 6 percent overall.  The 

proposed fees would range from $300 to $20,000 (where the Department conducts the 
inspection) or $250 to $18,000 (where a municipality conducts the inspection). 

 Plan review fees for building HVAC systems would increase 9 percent overall.  The 
proposed fees would range from $180 to $13,500 (Department inspection) or $150 to 

$12,100 (municipal inspection). 

 Plan review fees for fire systems would increase 6 percent overall.  The proposed fees would 
range from $50 to $7,100 (Department inspection) or $30 to $6,400 (municipal inspection). 

 
Elevators and Lifting Devices 

 The current basis for determining the fee for an elevator plan review, initial inspection and 
period inspection includes the number of landings of the elevator unit.  This basis would be 

removed and the basis would become the type of elevator unit, as follows: 
 Traction elevator, other elevator driving machines; 
 Hydraulic elevator; 

 Dumbwaiter, platform lift, stair chair lift, special application elevator; 
 Escalator, moving. 

 Current fee amounts for plan review and initial inspection in Table 2.15-1 and for periodic 
inspection in Table 2.15-2 would be combined into Table 2.15. 

 Current fee amounts charged for elevator plan review and initial elevator inspection fees 
would generally increase 57 percent. 

 Current fee amounts charged for elevator periodic inspection would generally increase 30 

percent. 

 Current fee amount for a permit to operate an elevator would remain at $35. 

 
Plumbing Systems Plan Review 

 Current fee amounts for plan review of plumbing systems would generally increase by 27 
percent. 

 Current fee amounts for plumbing product approval would increase by 25 percent. 
 

Public Swimming Pools, Water Attractions and Associated Slides  

 Current fee amounts for plan review and inspection of public swimming pools, water 

attractions and slides would increase 100 percent.  
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POWTS (Private Onsite Wastewater Treatment Systems) Plan and Product Review  

 Current fee amounts for plan review of POWTS would generally increase by 50 percent. 

 The current fee for a sanitary permit issued under Comm 2.67 (1) (a) would increase from 
$116 to $141, a 22 percent increase.  

 Current fee amounts for POWTS product approval would increase by 25%. 

 
Rental Weatherization 

 The current fee for a rental weatherization certification stamp would be increased from $30 
to $40, a 33 percent increase.  

 
Soil Erosion/Stormwater Management 

 The fee for filing a notice of intent (to disturb soil) would increase from $25 to $200, an 800 
percent increase.  The proposed fee would be the same as the NOI fee charged by the DNR. 

 
1&2 Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes/Housing 

 The Uniform Building Permit seal fee would increase from $25 to $30, a 20 percent 

increase. 

 The Wisconsin Insignia fee (utilized for manufactured dwellings) would remain at $25. 

 Fees for the plan review and inspection of manufactured home communities would remain 
unchanged. 

 Manufactured home titling fees and manufactured home community permit fees would 
remain unchanged. 

 
License, Certification and Registration 

 Where the current application fee is $10, the fee would generally increase to $15, a 50 

percent increase. 

 Where the current examination fee is $20, the fee would generally increase to $25, a 25 

percent increase. 

 The license fee for Commercial Building and UDC inspectors would increase from $30 to 

$40, a 33 percent increase. 

 The license, application and certification fees for a soil tester would increase from $25 to 

$35, $50 to $75 and $240 to $300 respectively. 

 The registration fee for a POWTS maintainer would increase from $60 to $90, a 50 percent 

increase. 

 The certification fee for an HVAC contractor would increase from $100 to $160, a 60 

percent increase. 
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Miscellaneous 

 The miscellaneous fees indicated in s. Comm 2.02 (e.g., photocopying fees, plan 
reproduction fees) would increase 20%. 

 The hourly fee charged for miscellaneous inspections during regular work hours would 
increase from $60 to $80, a 25 percent increase.  

 

 
6.  Summary of, and Comparison with Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations. 

 
 An Internet-based search in the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register did 
not identify any existing or proposed federal regulations that address these topics. 

 
 

7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States. 

 
The following is a comparison of some of the fees proposed with fees charged in other states.  The 

methodology of charging fees varies, making a meaningful comparison more difficult to conduct.   
The hourly rate of $80 per hour proposed by Commerce is compared with the hourly rate charged in 

other states.  Comparisons are also made between the permit-to-operate fees. 
 

Illinois 

Illinois does not provide for the state-wide regulation of commercial or residential building 
construction. 

Illinois provides for the statewide regulation of elevators.  Illinois requires payment of a $75 
annual certificate of operation for an elevator.  Wisconsin’s elevator permit to operate is also 
required annually and the fee is $35.  Illinois does not provide plan review or inspection 

services; the latter of these services is provided by licensed, private parties. 
Illinois also provides for statewide regulation of boilers.  For example, a certificate to 

operate is required annually in Illinois and the cost is $75.  Again, Wisconsin also requires 
such a permit annually and the cost is $35.  Regular inspections are provided by state 
inspectors (and also insurance inspectors).  The maximum fee proposed by Wisconsin for 

the inspection of a pressure vessel is $140; the maximum in Illinois for such an inspection is 
$160.   

 
Iowa 

Iowa fees for building plan review and inspection are based on the estimated construction 

costs.  An hourly rate for building inspection is indicated at $206 for one hour on-site, and 
$374 for an inspection lasting between 5 and 6 hours.   

Iowa’s fee for an annual elevator permit is $50; Wisconsin’s fee for an annual elevator 
permit is $35.  Iowa charges an hourly rate of $100 for consultative elevator inspections.  

 

Minnesota 

Minnesota has an hourly rate of $45 per hour for building inspections and some elevator 

inspections.  This rate is 15 years old and the costs of building inspection are significantly 
supplemented by a surcharge placed on municipal building permit revenue.  The hourly rate 
does not include costs related to code development and does not include costs for 

management other than direct supervision.  All code development and management costs are 
included in Wisconsin’s proposed hourly rate. 
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Minnesota’s hourly rate for boiler inspection is $80.  The annual registration fee for a boiler 

in Minnesota is $10; the Wisconsin fee for a boiler permit to operate is $35.  The Minnesota 
fee for the inspection of a boiler inaccessible or accessible for internal inspection is $55; a 
fee of $60 would be charged by Wisconsin for an external inspection of a heating boiler. 

 
Michigan 

Michigan charges an hourly rate of $100 per hour for various services (e.g., elevator hourly 
inspection rate and hourly building plan review rate).  Michigan’s annual certificate of 
operation fee for an elevator is $35, the same as Wisconsin’s annual elevator permit-to-

operate fee.  
 

 
8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies. 

 

 The majority of the fees charged by the Safety and Buildings Division have not been 
increased since 2000 and some fees have not been increased since 1992.  The proposed changes are 

necessary in order to bring revenues in line with the cost of providing the services in each program 
area.  It is estimated that the changes will increase total program revenues by 18 percent and 
provide a sufficient revenue flow for a 4-year period.  The department is statutorily directed to 

establish and collect fees which should, as closely as possible, equal the cost of providing those 
services. 

 
 The department utilizes advisory councils in analyzing and developing proposed revisions to 
the Fee Code.  The councils involved in the review of the proposed rules were the Amusement Ride 

Council, Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code Council, Commercial Building Code Council, 
Conveyance Safety Council, Manufactured Home Council, Multifamily Dwelling Code Council, 

Plumbing Code Council, Pool Council, POWTS Code Council and Uniform Dwelling Code 
Council.  These councils involve a variety of organizations whose memberships include small 
businesses and municipal staff.  The department utilizes these councils to gather information on 

potential impacts in complying with the administrative requirements of this proposal.  A 
responsibility of council members is to bring forth concerns their respective organizations may have 

with the requirements, including concerns regarding economic impacts.  (Copies of the council 
meetings summaries are on file in the Safety and Building Division.) 
 

 
9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in 

Preparation of Economic Impact Report. 

 
The Department believes that the proposed rules would have a minimal direct impact on 

small business in light of the following: 
 

In most cases, the annual fees associated with building equipment that require businesses to 
obtain permits to operate or registrations are not proposed to be increased.  The majority of the fee 
increases relate to division services, such as plan review and inspection, which most businesses 

would utilize on an infrequent basis.  These types of fees would not be significant to the overall 
operation of the business in comparison to overall expenses. 

 
An economic impact report has not been required pursuant to s. 227.137, Stats. 
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10.  Agency Contact. 

 
Robert DuPont, Program Development Bureau Director, robert.dupont@wisconsin.gov, 

(608) 266-8982 
 

 
11.  Public Hearing Comments. 

 

 The hearing record on this proposed rulemaking will remain open until June 6, 2008.  Written 
comments on the proposed may be submitted to James Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. 

Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701-2689, or email at jim.quast@wisconsin.gov. 
 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

mailto:robert.dupont@wisconsin.gov
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SECTION 1.  Chapter Comm 2 is amended to read: 

 
 

Subchapter I — Miscellaneous 

 

Comm 2.001 Scope. The fees established in this chapter shall be paid to the Wisconsin 

department of commerce, divisions of safety and buildings and environmental and regulatory 
services, for providing those services authorized in the Wisconsin Statutes. The divisions may 
withhold providing services to individuals who have past due accounts with the division. 

 
Note:  All checks or money orders are to be made payable to Wisconsin department  of commerce. 

 

Comm 2.02 Handling, copying and miscellaneous fees. (1) HANDLING FEES. (a)  The 
department may charge a handling fee, determined at $25.00 30.00 per hour, with a minimum fee of 

$25.00 30.00, in addition to any other fee provided in this chapter, to offset administrative costs. 
 

(b) A handling fee of $50.00 60.00 per plan shall be charged to the submitting party for any 
plan which is submitted to the department, entered into the department’s plan system and, then, 
requested to be returned by the submitting party prior to review.  This fee does not apply to building 

plan components, other than the original building or heating and ventilation plan noted in s. Comm 
2.31 (1) (a), submitted after the original plan submittal. 

 
(2) PHOTOCOPYING FEES. A photocopying fee of $0.25 0.30 per page may be charged. 
 

(3) PLAN REPRODUCTION FEES. A fee of $5.00 6.00 per plan sheet shall be charged to 
the submitting party for plan reproduction on plan sheets larger than legal size. Plan sheets at or 
smaller than legal size may be charged the normal photocopying fee. 

 
(4) PLAN APPROVAL − ADDITIONAL SETS. A maximum of 5 sets of plans shall be 

stamped approved without additional fees being charged. Upon request, additional sets of plans 
identical to previously approved plans shall be stamped approved upon receipt of a $20.00 25.00 fee 
per plan. 

 
Note:  The 5 sets include the one set retained by the department. 

 
(4m 5) FEE FOR EXTENSION OF PLAN APPROVAL. The examination fee for a plan 

previously approved by the department for which an approval extension is requested shall be 

$100.00 120.00 per plan. 
 

(5 6) MAILING LISTS. The fee for mailing lists shall be $25.00 30.00 for the first 1,000 
names and $5.00 6.00 for each 1,000 names thereafter.  This fee shall be doubled, if gummed labels 
are requested. 

 
(6 7) COMPUTER INFORMATION. Information from computer files is available for the 

costs incurred in generating the data requested. 
 
(8) INSPECTION AND COPYING OF FILES, PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS. The 

department shall allow inspection and copying of all files and plans, specifications and related 
materials filed with the department, except as follows: 
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(a) The department may restrict, on a case by case basis, the right of inspection or copying 
of files and plans, specifications and related materials where the possible harm to the public interest 
outweighs the benefits of inspection or copying for the following types of buildings and facilities: 

 
1. Banks, savings and loans, credit unions, securities dealers and other types or parts of 

buildings where large sums of money, negotiable securities or valuables are stored in secured areas; 
 
2. Jails and other correctional institutions; 

 
3. Public facilities regularly used for the storage or evaluation of evidence in criminal 

proceedings; 
 
4. Armories; 

 
5. Public broadcasting facilities; 

 
6. Power generating facilities; 

 

7. Museums and libraries; and 
 

8. Noncommercial storage tanks which store heating oil for consumptive use on the 
premises. 

 

9. Buildings that are or are anticipated to be owned by or leased to the state. 
 

(b) The department shall allow inspection or copying of files and plans, specifications and 
related materials of all buildings in response to lawful subpoena or written requests from law 
enforcement agencies. 

 
(c) Prior to any inspection or copying of files and plans, specifications and related materials, 

a written, signed application shall be obtained from the person requesting the inspection or copying.  
The application shall contain a general description of the files or premises for which inspection or 
copying is requested and the full name, address and telephone number of the requester.  The written 

request shall contain a statement that any information obtained from the inspection or copying shall 
not be used for any unlawful purpose or unfair competitive practice, and that the information set out 

therein is true and correct.  The department will consider the information supplied in the request in 
conjunction with the type of buildings noted in par. (a) in determining whether the request for 
inspection or copying shall be granted.  The department may transmit a copy of this statement to the 

owner and submitter of the documents being inspected or copied. 
 

(d) The department may charge a reasonable amount to defray its costs in providing copies. 
 

Comm 2.04 Miscellaneous plan reviews, inspections and services. (1) 

MISCELLANEOUS PLAN REVIEWS. Unless specified otherwise in this chapter, the fee for 
department costs incurred in performing miscellaneous plan reviews shall be $60.00 80.00 per hour 

per plan, with a minimum fee of $60.00 80.00 per plan. 
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(2) MISCELLANEOUS INSPECTIONS AND INVESTIGATIONS. Unless specified 

otherwise in this chapter, fees for department costs incurred in performing miscellaneous 
inspections or investigations, including special inspections for alterations, fabrication, repairs, 
testing, electrical construction and quality assurance methods, which are either provided on request 

or to satisfy administrative code requirements, shall be determined and assessed in accordance with 
Table 2.04.  An additional amount may be charged to cover all expenses, including travel time, 

mileage, meals and lodging.  Travel expenses shall be limited to those allowed under ss. 16.53 and 
20.916, Stats., and collective bargaining agreements. 

 

Table 2.04 

Miscellaneous Inspections and Investigations Fees 

 

Individual Special Inspections Fee Per Hour 

Per Inspector 

(a) 

1. 

Inspections performed between the hours of 7:45 a.m. 

and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays Monday through Friday 

$60.00 80.00 

(b) 
2. 

Inspections performed on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays 
and at times other than scheduled in (a) 1. 

$90.00 120.00 

(c) 

3. 

For supervising the American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers (ASME) joint review and audit and for 
conducting shop audits, Monday through Friday 

$90.00 120.00 

 

 
(2m 3) MINIMUM CHARGE. In reference to Table 2.04 (a) and (b) lines 1. and 2., a 

minimum charge of 4 hours shall be assessed for all special inspections required during fabrication 

and testing of ASME code items. 
 

(3 4) MISCELLANEOUS GOODS AND SERVICES. The department may collect a fee for 
providing goods and services related to work that has been delegated by the department to 
authorized agents, municipalities or other state agencies based upon actual cost. 

 
(4 5) INSPECTION ASSESSMENTS. The department may inspect any installation which is 

also inspected by a certified inspector.  When the department inspection confirms that the 
inspection report is incomplete, invalid or unacceptable, the department shall assess the inspector or 
his or her employer a fee determined in accordance with sub. (2). 

 
Comm 2.06 Fee assessment and collection. (1) ASSESSMENT. Unless specified 

otherwise in this chapter, registration, inspection and all other fees in this chapter shall be paid 
annually before registration is processed by the department. 

 

(2) COLLECTION. All fees not paid within 60 calendar days after the first invoice date may 
be assessed a late payment fee equal to one percent per month of the outstanding balance. 

 
(3) MONTHLY BILLING SERVICE. Upon request and advance approval, the department 

may bill for services rendered on a monthly basis rather than requiring payment on an individual fee 

basis.  Advance approval shall be obtained from the director in charge of the affected program.  The 
decision to grant the request shall be based on the applicant’s past record of paying for the service, 
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the credit rating from a recognized credit organization or a letter of financial reference concerning 

loan and account information from a financial institution. 
 

(4) CHARGE CARD. The department may accept fee payment by charge card electronic 

payment. 
 

Comm 2.07 Fee refunds. (1) GENERAL. If a request for a permit, for which a fee is paid 
and a processing time is specified, is not processed by the department within the time specified, a 
refund of 50% of the fee paid shall be made to the person who paid for the request for the permit. 

 
(2) DEFINITIONS. The following definitions shall apply in this section: 

 
(a) “Fee” means the amount of money paid for a single permit or request for service, but 

does not mean the total amount of money which may be submitted with an application covering 

more than one permit or request for service. 
 

(b) “Permit” includes an examination of plans, initial permit to operate, registration of a 
device, approval of a material or product, shaft excavation permit, petition for variance, permission 
to start construction, rental unit certificate of compliance, priority review and petition, and 

underground tank registration and use permit, but does not include any inspection services. 
 

(3) PROCESSING TIME. (a) Starting date. When an appointment process exists for a 
specific type of permit, the permit processing time shall begin on the appointment date. When an 
appointment process does not exist for a specific type of permit, the permit processing time shall 

begin on the day after receipt of the request for the permit whether submitted by mail or in person. 
When the department finds a permit application has been submitted with inadequate information or 

fees, the application will be placed on hold and the department will notify the applicant of the 
information needed to process the application. Upon receipt of the complete information, the 
department will process the permit, except that the length of the processing time shall start over and 

the processing time shall begin the day after the receipt of the additional information or fees. 
 

(b) Ending date. The ending date which shall be used to assess whether the permit was 
processed within the time period specified shall be the date the department actually made a 
determination to approve, deny or withhold the permit, and not the date on the correspondence 

noting the action or the date the permit was mailed out. 
 
Note:  The specific processing times for various permits may be found in the respective chapters where the 

permits are required. 

 

(4) DETERMINATION. (a) The starting and ending dates recorded on the computer records 
or individual file shall be presumed by the department to be correct and shall be the dates used to 
assess whether a refund is to be made. 

 
(b) The initial determination as to whether the permit was processed within the time period 

specified shall be made by the director of the bureau responsible for issuing the permit. 
 

(c) Determinations subject to dispute shall be forwarded to the division administrator for a 

final determination. 
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(5) PAYMENT OF REFUND FEES. (a) All refunds made by the department shall be 

forwarded through the United States postal service. 
 

(b) Refunds shall be mailed to the person who paid for the request for the permit at the 

address of record indicated on the department’s request for service forms. 
 

Comm 2.08 Waiver of fee assessments. All or a portion of any fee may be waived upon a 
determination of indigency.  Waivers under this section may be granted only by the secretary of the 
department. 

 

Comm 2.09 Priority review. A person may request and make an appointment with the 

department to facilitate the examination of plans, or the review of a product or material for 
approval, on a priority basis.  The fee for examination or review on a priority basis shall be twice 
the normal rate, based on the appropriate rate specified in this chapter.  Scheduling on a priority 

basis shall be contingent upon the department having sufficient time and staff to accommodate the 
request. 

 

Comm 2.10 Projects without approval. The plan examination fees specified in this chapter 
shall be doubled for projects where the installation, erection or construction was initiated without 

the required departmental approval. 
 

Subchapter II — Safety Services 

 

Comm 2.11 Boilers and pressure vessels. (1) BOILER FEES.  Inspection fees for boilers 

shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.11-1. 
 

(2) PRESSURE VESSEL FEES. Inspection fees for pressure vessels shall be determined in 
accordance with Table 2.11-2. 

 

(3) REINSPECTION FEES. A fee of $55.00 80.00 per inspection shall be assessed for 
inspections made by the department to gain compliance with ch. Comm 41, after orders have been 

issued by the department. 
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Table 2.11-1 

Boiler Inspection Fees 

 

Type of Boiler Heating Surface Area 

(Square Feet) 

Type of Inspection 

Internal External 

1. Miniature 20 or less $20.00 35.00 $20.00 35.00 

2. Power 21−250 $55.00 80.00 $55.00 80.00 
3.  251−1,000 $120.00 180.00 $80.00 120.00 
4.  1,001−10,000 $160.00 240.00 $115.00 170.00 

5.  Over 10,000 $420.00 630.00 $195.00 290.00 

6. Heating N/A   
7. -With manhole  $95.00 140.00 $40.00 60.00 

8. -Without manhole  $85.00 130.00 $40.00 60.00 

9. -Multiple boilers in one 
building 

 $40.00 60.00 per boiler or $240.00 
320.00 per 4 hour inspection 

period, whichever is less 

 

 

Table 2.11-2 

Pressure Vessel Inspection Fees 

 

Volume of Pressure 

Vessels(Cubic Feet) 

Operating Pressure 

(psig) 

Type of Inspection 

Internal or External 

1. All sizes Less than 15 No Fee 

2. 11 or less 15 or more No Fee 
3. 12−200 15 or more $35.00 50.00 

4. 201−500 15 or more $80.00 120.00 
5. Over 500 15 or more $95.00 140.00 

6. Multiple pressure vessels in 

one building 

−−− $35.00 50.00 per vessel or 

$240.00 320.00 per 4 hour 
inspection period, whichever is 

less 

 

 

(5) FEE FOR FAILURE TO HAVE BOILER OR PRESSURE VESSEL READY FOR 

INSPECTION. A fee equal to 50% of the applicable inspection fee shall be assessed for failure to 
have the boiler or pressure vessel ready for inspection on the date specified, unless the department 

is notified, in writing, 7 business days prior to the specified inspection date. 
 
(6) PERMIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit to operate for each boiler 

or pressure vessel shall be $35.00. 
 

(7) PIPING INVESTIGATION. Fees related to piping investigations performed by the 
department shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 

 

(8) NATIONAL BOARD EXAM. The fee for the application for and the administration of 
the national board of boiler and pressure vessel inspectors competency examination shall be 

$125.00 250.00. 
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Comm 2.12 Anhydrous ammonia systems. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION AND 
INSPECTION FEES. A fee of $450.00 700.00 shall be submitted for plan examination and external 
inspection of each new anhydrous ammonia handling or storage facility. 

 
(2) PERIODIC INSPECTION FEES. (a) Storage facilities. Fees for the required periodic 

inspection of storage facilities shall be $100.00 150.00 per facility. 
 

(b) Nurse tanks. Fees for the required periodic inspection of nurse tanks shall be determined 

in accordance with Table 2.12. 
 

Table 2.12 

Nurse Tank Inspection Fees 

 

Nurse Tanks Per Site Fee 

1. 10 or less $40.00 80.00 
2. 11−30 $85.00 120.00 

3. 31−50 $135.00 200.00 
4. Over 50 $190.00 250.00 

 

 
(2m 3) REINSPECTION FEES. A fee in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2) shall be 

assessed for inspections made by the department to gain compliance with ch. Comm 43, after orders 

directing compliance have been issued by the department. 
 
(3 4) PERMIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit to operate for each 

anhydrous ammonia system shall be $35.00. 
 

Comm 2.13 Mechanical refrigeration systems. (1) INSPECTION FEES. The inspection 
fees, based on the aggregate tonnage of the mechanical refrigeration system, shall be determined 
in accordance with Table 2.13. 

 
Table 2.13 

Mechanical Refrigeration Inspection Fees 

 

Capacity in Tons Inspection Fee 

1. Less than 3 No fee 
2. 3−25 $40.00 60.00 
3. 26−100 $65.00 100.00 

4. 101−250 $85.00 130.00 
5. 251−500 $140.00 210.00 

6. 501−750 $190.00 290.00 
7. 751−1,000 $230.00 350.00 
8. Over 1,000 $270.00 400.00 

 
Note: For the purpose of assessing the inspection fee, the capacity of a mechanical refrigeration system will be 

determined in tons. One ton of refrigeration capacity is  considered to be the equivalent of abstracting heat at the rate of 

12,000 Btu per hour. 
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(1m 2) REINSPECTION FEES. A fee of $55.00 80.00 per inspection shall be assessed for 
inspections made by the department to gain compliance with ch. Comm 45, after orders directing 
compliance have been issued by the department. 

 
(2 3) PERMIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit to operate for each 

mechanical refrigeration system shall be $35.00. 
 

Comm 2.15 Elevators, power dumbwaiters, escalators, moving walks and ramps, lifts 

for accessibility and material lifts. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION, APPLICATION AND INITIAL 
INSPECTION FEES. Fees for the initial inspection and for the examination of plans or for an 

application for installation or alteration, or both, submitted in accordance with the requirements of 
s. Comm 18.1013, shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.15-1. A reinspection fee as 
specified in Table 2.15-1 shall be charged for each inspection conducted until the installation or 

alteration qualifies for a permit to operate. 
 

Table 2.15-1 

Plan Examination and Inspection Fees 

for Elevators, Escalators and Lift Devices 

 

Type of Unit or  

Number of Landings 

Plan Examination 

and Initial 

Inspection Fee 

Reinspection 

Fee 

 0−4 landings $550.00 $300.00 

 5−10 landings $600.00 $400.00 
 11 or more landings $700.00 $500.00 

 Escalators $500.00 $300.00 

 Alteration to elevators, 
escalators or lift devices 

$400.00 $300.00 

 

 
(2) PERIODIC INSPECTION AND REINSPECTION FEES. Fees for periodic inspections 

and reinspections of all classes of elevators and lifting devices within the scope of ch. Comm 18 

shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.15-2.  An inspection fee shall also be charged for 
each reinspection of an elevator in accordance with Table 2.15-2 until the installation or alteration 

qualifies for a permit to operate. 
 

Table 2.15-2 

Periodic Inspection and Reinspection Fees 

for Elevators, Escalators and Lift Devices 

 

Type of Unit or Number  

of Landings 

Inspection Fee 

 0−4 landings $90.00 

 5−10 landings $120.00 
 11 or more landings $150.00 

 Escalators $150.00 
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Table 2.15 

Plan Examination and Inspection Fees 

for Elevators, Escalators and Lift Devices 

 

Type of Unit Plan Examination Type of Inspection 

New 

Installations 

Alterations, 

Repairs and 

Remodeling 

Acceptance or Acceptance  

Re-inspection 

Periodic or  

Periodic  

Re-inspection New 

Installations 

Alterations, 

Repairs and 
Remodeling 

1. Traction elevator, 
other elevator driving 
machines 

$400.00 $200.00 $800.00 $400.00 $320.00 

2. Hydraulic elevator $320.00 $160.00 $720.00 $360.00 $240.00 

3. Dumbwaiter, platform 
lift, stair chair lift, 
special application 
elevator 

$320.00 $160.00 $640.00 $320.00 $160.00 

4. Escalator, moving 
walk 

$320.00 $160.00 $800.00 $400.00 $320.00 

 

 
(2m 3) FEE FOR FAILURE TO HAVE EQUIPMENT READY FOR INSPECTION.  A fee 

equal to 50% of the applicable inspection fee shall be assessed for failure to have the elevator or 

lifting device ready for inspection on the date specified, unless the department is notified, in 
writing, 7 business days prior to the specified inspection date. 

 
(3 4) PERMIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit to operate for each 

elevator shall be $35.00. 

 

Comm 2.17 Mines, pits and quarries. (1) SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS. The person 

or firm operating the crushing, screening or washing equipment shall submit, with the fee specified 
in sub. (2), the name of the mine, pit or quarry; the name of the company; the mailing address; the 
telephone number; and the type of product to be mined, such as ore, stone, clay, lime or aggregate. 

 
(2) SAFETY SERVICE. The annual safety service fee for each metal or nonmetal mine, pit 

or quarry shall be based on the size of the respective operation for the calendar year.  Production 
records shall be made available upon request.  The fee shall be determined in accordance with Table 
2.17. This fee does not apply to mines, pits or quarries used for private domestic use. 

 
Note: The department intends to review the fees in Table 2.17 with the Mines, Pits  and Quarries Advisory 

Council by June 1, 2001, and annually thereafter. 
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Table 2.17 

Annual Production Safety Service Fee 

 

Annual Production (Tons Per Year) Annual Safety  

Service Fee 

1. Less than 50,000 $70.00 
2. 50,000−100,000 $140.00 

3. 100,001−200,000 $280.00 
4. 200,001−300,000 $420.00 
5. 300,001−400,000 $560.00 

6. 400,001−500,000 $700.00 
7. Over 500,000 $1,120.00 

 

 
(3) SHAFT EXCAVATION PERMIT. The fee for obtaining a shaft excavation permit shall 

be $400.00 per permit. 
 
(4) MISCELLANEOUS INSPECTIONS. The fee for miscellaneous consultation inspections 

provided on request shall be in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 
 

(5) TRAINING. The fee for annual refresher training provided by the department and 
required by the federal mine safety and health administration shall be $330.00 per course. 
 

Comm 2.18 Explosive materials. (1) USE. Fees for conducting a safety inspection of the 
use of explosive materials shall be assessed in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2).  Use of explosive 
materials shall include the storage of daily supplies. 

 
(2) PERMANENT STORAGE. Fees for conducting a safety inspection of a permanent 

explosive materials storage facility shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.18.  The fees are 
based on the combined volume of one or more magazines at any given site.  This inspection fee 
applies to blasters and explosive materials contractors working independently of mine, pit or quarry 

operations. 
 

Table 2.18 

Explosive Materials Storage Facility Inspection Fees 

 

Quantity of Explosives Fee 

 Storage Per Site  
1. Less than 100 cubic feet $80.00 

2. 100−500 cubic feet $120.00 
3. Over 500 cubic feet $160.00 

 

 
(3) TEMPORARY STORAGE IN A COMMUNITY. Fees for department costs incurred in 

the performance of safety inspections of temporary explosive materials storage magazines in a 

community shall be $80.00 per magazine. 
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Comm 2.19 Fireworks manufacturing plants. Fees for department costs incurred in the 

performance of inspection of fireworks manufacturing plants shall be determined in accordance 
with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 
 

Comm 2.20 Amusement rides. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION, DATA REVIEW, 
REGISTRATION AND INSPECTIONS. Fees for amusement rides shall be determined in 

accordance with the following schedule: 
 
(a) Plan examination for new amusement ride tramways . . . . . . . $220.00 280.00 per plan 

submittal. 
 
Note: See ch. Comm 33 for definitions of tramways. 
 
(b) Review of engineering analysis and test data associated with the acceptance of 

amusement rides and bungee jumping sites . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $220.00 280.00 per review ride. 
 

(c) 1. Annual registration for all amusement rides . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50.00 55.00 per ride. 
 
2. Late registration fee for failure to register amusement ride before opening it to the public . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $200.00 per ride. 
 

(d) Initial inspection of custom-built, site-specific amusement rides not used in a portable 
mode . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . per s. Comm 2.04 (2). 

 

(d e) Inspection Periodic inspection of coin operated kiddie rides with a maximum capacity 
of 3 children . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $60.00 70.00 per 
ride. 

 
(e f) Inspection Periodic inspection of Class 1 amusement rides . . . $120.00 140.00 per ride. 

 
(f g) Inspection Periodic inspection of Class 2 amusement rides, except amusement rides 

that the manufacturer estimates require more than 40 work hours for erection . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $225.00 250.00 per ride. 
 

(g h) Inspection Periodic inspection of Class 3 2 amusement rides and amusement rides that 
the manufacturer estimates require more than 40 work hours for erection . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $325.00 350.00 per ride. 

 
(h i) Inspection Periodic inspection of amusement ride tramways . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $400.00 420.00 per tramway. 
 
(i) Inspection of bungee jumping site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $800.00 per site or tower. 

 
(j) Late registration fee for failure to register amusement ride before opening it to the public 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $160.00 per ride. 
 
(k j) Reinspection fee to gain compliance for noncompliance with department orders if 

compliance is not met previously issued by the department . . . . . . . . . $225.00 100.00 per visit ride. 
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Note: See ch. Comm 34 for definitions of ride classes. 

 
(2) FEE ASSESSMENT AND COLLECTION. Registration and outstanding inspection fees 

for amusement rides shall be paid annually before registration is processed by the department. 

 

Comm 2.21 Passenger ropeways. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION FEE. Fees for the 

examination of plans for passenger ropeways shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.21-1. 
 

Table 2.21-1 

Plan Examination Fees for Passenger Ropeways 

 

Type of Passenger Ropeway Fee Per Plan 

1. Gondola lifts and rides $780.00 
2. Chair lifts and rides $580.00 
3. Surface tows, except fiber and wire rope tows $390.00 

4. Fiber and wire rope tows, and conveyors $260.00 

 
Note: See ch. Comm 34 for definition of the term “Amusement Ride” as it applies  to passenger ropeways used 

as amusement rides. 

 
Note: Surface tows include T-bar, platter and similar devices. 

 
 
(2) INSPECTION FEES. Fees for the inspection of new installations, annual inspections and 

other inspections of passenger ropeways shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.21-2. 
 

 
Table 2.21-2 

Inspection Fees for Passenger Ropeways 

 

Type of Passenger Ropeway Inspection Fee Per Installation 

1. Gondola lifts and rides $530.00 490.00 

2. Chair lifts and rides: $530.00 
3. Fixed grip $280.00 
4. Detachable grip $350.00 

5. Surface tows, except fiber and wire rope tows $350.00 210.00 
6. Fiber and wire rope tows, and conveyors $210.00 140.00 

 
Note: See ch. Comm 34 for definition of the term “Amusement Ride” as it applies  to passenger ropeways used 

as amusement rides. 

 
Note: Surface tows include T-bar, platter and similar devices. 

 

(3) LOAD TEST FEE. The fee for certifying a load test of a passenger ropeway shall be 
$350.00 420.00 per load test. 

 

(4) PERMIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit to operate for each 
passenger ropeway shall be $35.00. 
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Subchapter III - Buildings 

 

Comm 2.31 Buildings, structures, heating, ventilation and fire protection systems. (1) 

PLAN SUBMITTAL. (a) General. Fees relating to the submittal of all plans, submitted in 

accordance with the requirements of chs. Comm 60 to 66, shall be determined in accordance with 
this section. 

 
(b) Plan review fees. Fees relating to the submittal of all building plans, heating, ventilating 

and air conditioning (HVAC) plans, and fire protection system plans shall be computed on the basis 

of the total gross square footage of each building or affected area.  The fees shall be determined in 
accordance with Table 2.31-1 for buildings not located in municipalities that have assumed building 

inspection responsibilities.  The fees shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.31-2 for 
buildings located in agent municipalities and counties that have assumed the building inspection 
responsibilities specified under s. 101.12 (3) (g), Stats., and ch. Comm 61. 

 
Note: See ch. Comm 61 for the types of buildings and components that must be submitted for review.  Fees for 

component plans that are an integral part of the building project are included in the “Building Plans” or “HVAC Plans” 

fees provided they are submitted prior to final inspection. Also, see the Safety and Buildings Division’s  Plan Submittal 

Kit (SBD−8927) for detailed information on all submittal processes  relating to component plans such as lighting and 

pre-engineered structural components. 
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Table 2.31−1 

Plan Review Fees for Buildings Not Located in Municipalities That Perform Inspections  

 

Area (Square Feet) Fees  
Building Plans  HVAC Plans  Fire Alarm 

System Plans 
Fire Suppression 

System Plans  
1. Less than 2,500 $260 300 $160 180 $30 50 $30 50 

2. 2,501-5,000 330 350 220 250 60 100 60 100 

3. 5,001-10,000 550 600 260 300 80 150 80 150 

4. 10,001-20,000 750 800 400 450 150 200 150 200 

5. 20,001-30,000 1,100 1,200 540 600 220 250 220 250 

6. 30,001-40,000 1,500 1,600 830 900 360 400 360 400 

7. 40,001-50,000 2,000 2,100 1,100 1,200 500 550 500 550 

8. 50,001-75,000 2,700 2,900 1,500 1,600 720 800 720 800 

9. 75,001-100,000 3,400 3,600 2,100 2,200 1,000 1,100 1,000 1,100 

10. 100,001-200,000 5,600 6,000 2,700 2,900 1,300 1,400 1,300 1,400 

11. 200,001-300,000 9,900 10,500 6,300 6,700 3,100 3,300 3,100 3,300 

12. 300,001-400,000 15,000 15,500 9,200 9,800 4,500 4,800 4,500 4,800 

13. 400,001-500,000 18,500 12,000 5,900 6,300 5,900 6,300 

14. Over 500,000 20,000 13,500 6,700 7,100 6,700 7,100 

 
 

Table 2.31−2 

Plan Review Fees for Buildings Located in Municipalities That Perform Inspections  

 

Area (Square Feet) Fees  
Building Plans  HVAC Plans  Fire Alarm 

System Plans 
Fire Suppression 

System Plans  

1. Less than 2,500 $220 250 $130 150 $15 30 $15 30 

2. 2,501-5,000 290 300 200 50 60 50 60 

3. 5,001-10,000 480 500 220 300 60 100 60 100 

4. 10,001-20,000 670 700 340 400 120 150 120 150 

5. 20,001-30,000 990 1,100 480 500 190 200 190 200 

6. 30,001-40,000 1,300 1,400 750 800 320 350 320 350 

7. 40,001-50,000 1,800 1,900 1,000 1,100 450 500 450 500 

8. 50,001-75,000 2,400 2,600 1,300 1,400 600 700 600 700 

9. 75,001-100,000 3,000 3,300 1,900 2,000 900 1,000 900 1,000 

10. 100,001-200,000 5,000 5,400 2,400 2,600 1,150 1,200 1,150 1,200 

11. 200,001-300,000 8,900 9,500 5,700 6,100 2,800 3,000 2,800 3,000 

12. 300,001-400,000 13,400 14,000 8,300 8,800 4,100 4,400 4,100 4,400 

13. 400,001-500,000 16,700 10,800 5,300 5,600 5,300 5,600 

14. Over 500,000 18,000 12,100 6,000 6,400 6,000 6,400 

 
 

(c) Multiple identical buildings. The fees set forth in this paragraph may be applied to a 

project which contains multiple identical buildings.  In order to qualify for the multiple identical 
building fee, plans for all buildings shall be submitted at the same time.  The fees for the submittal 

of plans for the first building shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.31-1 or 2.31-2 on the 
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basis of the total gross area of one building.  The fee for each of the remaining identical buildings 

shall be computed on the basis of an area of less than 2,500 square feet. 
 

(d) Miscellaneous plans. The fee for miscellaneous plans shall be $200 250 per plan. 

Miscellaneous plans are plans which have no building, HVAC or fire protection system plan 
submissions and those plans for which no area may be associated.  Miscellaneous plans include, but 

are not limited to, all of the following: 
 
1. Footing and foundation plans submitted prior to the submission of the building plans. 

 
2. Industrial exhaust systems for dust, fumes, vapors and gases, for government-owned 

buildings only. 
 
3. Spray booth plans, for government-owned buildings only. 

 
4. Stadium, grandstand and bleacher plans, and interior bleacher plans submitted as 

independent projects. 
 
5. Structural plans submitted as independent projects, such as docks, piers, antennae, 

outdoor movie screens and observation towers. 
 

6. Any building component, other than building, HVAC and fire protection systems, 
submitted following the final inspection by a deputy of the department or, in the case of an agent 
municipality or county, the inspector having jurisdiction. 

 
7. Building, HVAC and fire protection system plans submitted following denial of plan 

approval, if the submission is within 8 months of the denial. 
 
(e) Permission to start construction. The fee for a permission to start construction shall be 

$50.00 75.00. 
 

(f) Revisions. The fee for revisions to previously approved plans and plans that have been 
previously reviewed but not denied shall be $50.00 75.00. 

 

(g) Second class city. A second class city that is certified to perform the expanded plan 
examinations specified in s. Comm 61.60 (5) (b) shall submit to the department the fee specified in 

Table 2.31-3 for each building or structure reviewed which exceeds the limits specified in s. Comm 
61.60 (5) (c). 

 

(h) Appointed agent. An agent that is appointed by the department under s. Comm 61.61 to 
perform plan examinations shall submit to the department the fees specified in Table 2.31−3 for 

each building or structure reviewed under s. Comm 61.61. 
 
(i) Notice fee. The fee for notifying the department of electing to use a registered individual 

for building design and supervision in lieu of departmental plan approval, under s. Comm 61.30 (1) 
(b) 3., shall be $20.00 25.00 for the building plans and related components, $20.00 25.00 for the 

heating, ventilating and air conditioning plans and related components, $20.00 25.00 for the fire 
alarm system plans and $20.00 25.00 for the fire suppression system plans. 
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Table 2.31−3 

Fees to be Forwarded to the Department 

for Reviews Performed by Second Class Cities and Appointed Agents  

 

Area (Square Feet) Fees  
Building Plans  HVAC Plans  Fire Alarm 

System Plans 
Fire Suppression 

System Plans  

1. Less than 2,500 $35 30 $20 18 $5 $5 

2. 2,501-5,000 45 35 30 25 8 10 8 10 

3. 5,001-10,000 75 60 35 30 10 15 10 15 

4. 10,001- 20,000 100 80 55 45 20 20 

5. 20,001-30,000 150 120 75 60 30 25 30 25 

6. 30,001-40,000 195 160 115 90 50 40 50 40 

7. 40,001-50,000 270 210 150 120 70 55 70 55 

8. 50,001-75,000 360 290 195 160 90 80 90 80 

9. 75,001-100,000 450 360 285 220 135 110 135 110 

10. 100,001-200,000 750 600 360 290 175 140 175 140 

11. 200,001-300,000 1,135 1,050 855 670 420 330 420 330 

12. 300,001-400,000 2,010 1,550 1,245 980 615 480 615 480 

13. 400,001-500,000 2,505 1,850 1,620 1,200 795 630 795 630 

14. Over 500,000 2,700 2,000 1,815 1,350 900 710 900 710 

 
 

(2) FEE FOR PLAN ENTRY. In addition to the plan review and inspection fees for a 
project, each separate submission of plans for the project shall be accompanied by a $100.00 plan 

entry fee.  When plans for multiple projects are submitted together, each project shall constitute a 
separate submission and requires a $100.00 plan entry fee. 

 
Note: For example, the total fee to be submitted under Table 2.31-1 for a 15,000 square foot building that 

includes building plans, HVAC plans, fire alarm plans and fire suppression plans would be $750 + $400 + $150 + $150 

+ $100 = $1,550 $800+$450+$200+$200+$100 = $1,750. 

 
(2m 3) FEE FOR MISSING A PLAN REVIEW APPOINTMENT. A fee of $50.00 60.00 

may be charged for missing a plan review appointment that was processed and scheduled by the 
department. 

 

(4) REINSPECTION FEE. A fee as specified in s. Comm 2.04 (2) shall be assessed for 
inspections made by the department to gain compliance with rules after orders have been issued by 

the department. 
 
(5) COMPLETION STATEMENT. A fee of $10.00 15.00 shall be assessed for any project 

where the department has issued orders for a completion statement to be submitted as required by s. 
Comm 61.50 61.40. 

 
(6) FEE REFUNDS. The department may refund the difference in fees between Tables 2.31-

1 and 2.31-2 for projects that are abandoned prior to construction. 

 
(7) COLLECTION OF FEES. Fees shall be remitted at the time the plans are submitted. No 

plan examinations, approvals or inspections shall be made until fees are received. 
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Comm 2.33 Manufactured homes. (1) CERTIFICATION AND INSPECTION FEES. Fees 
for certification and inspection relative to the manufacture of manufactured homes shall be 
determined in accordance with Table 2.33-1. 

 
Table 2.33-1 

Certification and Inspection Fees 

for Manufactured Homes 

 

Type of Approval Fee 

1. Manufactured home inspection Established by Contract 
2. Plant inspection and certification See s. Comm 2.04 (2) 
3. Required inspection not included in the fee 

distribution system described in 24 CFR 
3282.204 (a) 

See s. Comm 2.04 (2) 

4. Warranty-related inspections, reinspections or 
investigative actions conducted as a result of 
consumer complaints 

See s. Comm 2.04 (2) 

 

 
(2) FORMALDEHYDE INVESTIGATION AND TESTING. To offset the department cost 

of conducting formaldehyde testing and complaint investigation related to formaldehyde in 
manufactured homes, a fee shall be assessed in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2), or $120 160.00 
per test, whichever is greater. 

 
(3 2) COMMUNITY PLAN REVIEW AND INSPECTIONS. The department shall assess a 

fee of $100 for each inspection of a new manufactured home community or community expansion 
or for investigation of a complaint. Fees for plan review and inspection of new or expanded 
manufactured home communities shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.33-2. 
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Table 2.33-2 

Manufactured Home Community 

Plan Examination and Inspection Fees 

 

Proposed Number 

of Home Sites 

Plan Examination 

and Initial Inspection Fee 

Reinspection 

Fee 

1. 1 – 20 $250.00 $160.00 

2. 21 – 50 450.00 160.00 

3. 51 – 100 700.00 160.00 

4. 101 – 175 900.00 160.00 

5. more than 175 1,000.00 160.00 

 

 
(4 3) COMMUNITY PERMITS. (a) Manufactured home community permit fees are as 

follows: Permit fees for manufactured home communities shall be determined in accordance with 
Table 2.33-3. 

 

1. For a community with 1 to 20 sites, $250. 
 

2. For a community with 21 to 50 sites, $450. 
 

3. For a community with 51 to 100 sites, $700. 

 
4. For a community with 101 to 175 sites, $900. 

 
5. For a community with more than 175 sites, $1000. 

 
Note: The community permit fees cover the department’s costs for plan examination. 

 
Table 2.33-3 

Manufactured Home Community 

Permit Fees 

 

Number of Home Sites Permit Fee Permit Revision 

Fee 

1. 1 – 20 $250.00 $40.00 

2. 21 – 50 450.00 40.00 

3. 51 – 100 700.00 40.00 

4. 101 – 175 900.00 40.00 

5. more than 175 1,000.00 40.00 

 
 

(b) A late fee of $30 80.00 shall be required for each permit if the renewal fee is not paid 

before the permit expires. 
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(c) Agents issuing permits shall reimburse the department 37% of the permit fees specified 

in par. (a). 
 
(5 4) CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FEES. Fees for a certificate of title for a manufactured 

home shall be determined in accordance with the following schedule: 
 

(a) For filing an application for the first certificate of title. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $8.50. 
 
(b) A manufactured housing rehabilitation and recycling fee upon filing an application under 

par. (a) or (d) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $7.00. 
 

(c) For the original notation and subsequent release of each security interest noted upon a 
certificate of title . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $4.00. 

 

(d) For a certificate of title after a transfer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $8.50. 
 

(e) A supplemental title fee upon filing an application under par. (a) or (d), except that this 
fee shall be waived with respect to an application under par. (d) for transfer of a decedent’s interest 
in a manufactured home to his or her surviving spouse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $7.50. 

 
(f) For each assignment of a security interest noted upon a certificate of title . . . . . . . .$1.00. 

 
(g) For a replacement certificate of title . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $8.00. 

 

(h) For processing applications for certificates of title that have special handling requests for 
fast service . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$15.00. 

 
(i) For the reinstatement of a certificate of title previously suspended or revoked . . . .$25.00. 
 

(j) For conducting a file search of manufactured home title records . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3.00. 
 

(k) For each notification under s. 101.9213 (8), Stats., that a security interest has not been 
satisfied . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $4.00. 
 

Comm 2.34 One− and two−family dwellings, multifamily dwellings, manufactured 

dwellings and manufactured multifamily dwellings. (1) UNIFORM BUILDING PERMIT 

SEAL. A fee of $25.00 30.00 shall be remitted to the department at the time of application for a 
Wisconsin Uniform Building Permit Seal. Municipalities or UDC inspection agencies administering 
the Uniform Dwelling Code shall purchase one $25.00 30.00 permit seal for each new dwelling. 

 
(2) DEPARTMENTAL INSPECTIONS. Where an employee of the department performs an 

on−site inspection related to the enforcement of the Uniform Dwelling Code as a result of a 
consumer complaint or a request by an individual in a municipality where permits are not issued 
and inspections are not performed, a fee may be assessed to the individual requesting the inspection 

determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2), with a minimum fee of $120.00 160.00 per 
inspection, payable in advance to the department. 

 
(3) MULTIFAMILY DWELLINGS. Fees related to plan examination and field inspections 

for multifamily dwellings shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.31. 
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(4) MANUFACTURED DWELLINGS MODULAR HOMES. (a) Except as provided in 
pars. (b) and (c), where employees of the department perform plan reviews, plant evaluations, 
consumer complaint investigations or any other type of enforcement-related activity for 

manufactured dwellings modular homes, the manufacturer shall be assessed at the rates determined 
in accordance with s. Comm 2.04. 

 
(b) The minimum fee for plan review shall be $80.00 per plan. 

 

(c) The minimum fee for inspections shall be $120.00 160.00 per inspection. 
 

(5) MANUFACTURED MULTIFAMILY DWELLINGS. (a) Fees related to plan 
examination and field inspections for manufactured multifamily dwellings shall be determined in 
accordance with s. Comm 2.31. 

 
(b) Fees related to in-plant inspections for manufactured multifamily dwellings performed 

by the department shall be assessed and determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 
 
(6) WISCONSIN INSIGNIAS. Fees for Wisconsin insignias shall be assessed and computed 

on the basis of $25.00 for each dwelling unit. 
 

(7) MISCELLANEOUS FEES. When the department provides goods or services not 
specifically covered by the fees in subs. (1) to (6), fees may be charged to persons or organizations 
requesting the goods and services based upon actual cost. 

 

Comm 2.35 Rental unit energy efficiency program. (1) CERTIFICATION STAMPS.  A 

fee of $30.00 40.00 shall be remitted to the department for each certification transfer authorization 
stamp used to validate certificates of compliance.  Only certified rental unit energy efficiency 
inspectors may purchase certification stamps from the department. 

 
(2) SATISFACTION OF COMPLIANCE.  A fee of $50.00 shall be remitted to the 

department for each satisfaction of compliance issued as specified in s. Comm 67.06 (5). 
 
(3) FEES FOR INSPECTION AND CERTIFICATION. (a) Maximum fee.  The maximum 

fee for inspection and certification of rental units by the department or certified inspector shall be as 
follows: 

 
1.  Up to 2 rental units…………………………………..$200.00 250.00 
 

2.  Three to 8 rental units………………………………..$200.00 250.00 plus $50 for each 
additional rental unit over 2 rental units. 

 
3.  Over 8 rental units……………………………………$200.00 250.00 plus $25 for each 

additional rental unit over 8 rental units. 

 
(b) Scope of fee. 1.  The inspection and certification fee shall cover the cost of performing an 

initial inspection, which includes issuing a field inspection report explaining items of 
noncompliance and a final inspection, which includes the cost of the certification stamp and 
preparation of the certificate.  If additional inspections are required due to noncompliant items not 
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being corrected, an additional fee, based upon an actual cost basis, including salary and actual travel 

expenses, may be charged to offset the cost of further inspections.  If, after an initial inspection, a 
notice of noncompliance is issued and, upon reinspection, all of the required energy measures were 
installed, no additional charges may be made for any further inspections.  Further inspections may 

be necessary to assure that the proper energy measures are installed in response to any additional 
points of noncompliance.  

 
2.  The evaluation and certification fee shall cover the cost of preparing necessary forms, the 

cost of the certification stamp and preparation of the certificate.  If the building performance is 

determined by calculation from fuel use data, the fee shall cover the cost of collecting and verifying 
the fuel use and building size information and performing necessary calculations.  The fee does not 

cover field measurement of the building performance. 
 
(c) Fees for requested inspections.  Inspection the department is required to perform will be 

charged the maximum fee. 
 

Comm 2.36 Erosion and sediment control. The filing fee for a notice of intent required 
under s. Comm 60.12 (1) shall be $25.00 200.00. 
 

Comm 2.43 Storage tanks for flammable and combustible liquids. (1) PLAN 
EXAMINATION AND INSPECTION FEES. Fees for the examination of plans, site inspections 

and reinspections for tanks used for the storage of flammable and combustible liquids shall be 
determined in accordance with Table 2.43. 
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Table 2.43 

Plan Examination and Inspection Fees for Liquid Storage Tanks 

 

Tank System Category Plan Review 

Fee* 
Installation 

Inspection Fee 
Plan Revision 

Fee  
Reinspection 

Fee  
 Aggregate capacity of 

aboveground storage tanks equal 
to or less than 1,100 gallons 
installed on a farm premises with 
inspection in 5 days or less 

$0 $75 $0 $0 

 Aggregate capacity of 
aboveground storage tanks equal 
to or less than 1,100 gallons 
installed on a farm premises with 
inspection in 2 days or less 

$0 $100 $0 $0 

 Aggregate capacity equal to or 
less than 1,100 gallons 

$60 $100 $100 $100 

 Aggregate capacity 1,101 gallons 
through 48,000 gallons capacity 

$125 $250 $100 $100 

 Aggregate capacity 48,001 
gallons through 80,000 
gallons capacity 

$150 $300 $100 $100 

 Aggregate capacity 80,001 
gallons through 120,000 gallons 
capacity 

$180 $450 $120 $150 

 Aggregate capacity 120,001 
gallons capacity or greater 

$360 $600 $150 $200 

 Addition of corrosion protection 
to an existing system 

$35 $100 $100 $100 

 Conversion of existing system to 
a point of sale type of dispensing 
system** 

$35 $100 $100 $100 

 Underground storage tank pre-
lining inspection 

Aggregate as 
above 

$50/tank $100 $100 

 Upgrade or install Stage II vapor 
recovery on existing system 

Aggregate as 
above 

Aggregate as 
above 

$100 $100 

 
Note:  *If the department is conducting plan review in the absence of an assigned local program operator, the 

appropriate Table 2.43 fees must be submitted. 

 
Note:  **A point of sale system is any dispensing system that will authorize fuel dispensing by means of key, 

card, cash or code activation. 

 
(2) GROUNDWATER FEE. Pursuant to s. 101.14 (5), Stats., in addition to any fee charged 

by the department by rule for plan review and approval for the construction of a new or additional 
installation or change in operation of a previously approved installation for the storage, handling or 

use of flammable, combustible or hazardous liquids, the department shall collect a groundwater fee 
of $100 for each plan review submittal.  The moneys collected under this subsection shall be 
credited to the environmental fund for environmental management. 

 
Note: In accordance with s. 101.14 (5) (b), Stats., an installation that has a capacity  of less than 1,000 gallons 

is not subject to the groundwater fee. 
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(3) REINSPECTION FEE. The contractor, when performing activities covered under ss. 
Comm 5.84 to 5.87, shall pay the reinspection fee to the authorized agent if the authorized agent is 
required to make a return trip due to any of the following, or is required to reschedule a trip on less 

than 24 hours notice of any of the following: 
 

(a) Failure to have the tank system accessible for inspection on the date and time specified 
for inspection. 

 

(b) Installation inspection points that are incomplete on the date and time specified for 
inspection. 

 
(c) Failure to correct deficiencies by the date and time specified for inspection. 
 
Note: Section Comm 5.84 covers aboveground tank system installation certification  requirements. Comm 5.85 

covers underground tank system installation certification requirements. Comm 5.86 covers tank system lining 

certification requirements.  Comm 5.87 covers tank system removing and cleaning certification requirements. 

 
(4) SPECIAL INSPECTION FEE. The owner or operator shall pay the miscellaneous 

inspection fee specified in s. Comm 2.04 (2) to the authorized agent for any of the following 
reasons: 

 

(a) Replacement of identical equipment where the department or local program operator has 
waived the plan submittal requirement. 

 
(b) Pre-operational inspection required by the department as a result of compliance orders 

where plan submittal is not required. 

 

Comm 2.44 Storage tanks for gases. Fees for the examination of plans, site inspections 

and reinspections for tanks used for the storage of liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas, 
compressed natural gas, gaseous hydrogen and liquefied hydrogen shall be determined in 
accordance with Table 2.44. 
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Table 2.44 

Plan Examination and Inspection Fees for Gas Storage Tanks 

 

Type of Examination or Inspection Fee 

1. Liquefied Petroleum Gas Systems  

2. 125 to 1,999 Gallon Water Capacity Tank (No state examination or 
inspection fee required.) 

3. 2000 Gallon Water Capacity and Above or Where the Aggregate Water Capacity will be 4000 
Gallons or Larger 

4. Plan Examination Fee $200.00 300.00 per site 

5. Site Inspection Fee $250.00 400.00 per site 

6. Liquefied Natural Gas Systems  

7. 125 to 1,999 Gallon Water Capacity Tank (No state examination or 
inspection fee required.) 

8. 2000 Gallon Water Capacity and Above or Where the Aggregate Water Capacity will be 4000 
Gallons or Larger 

9. Plan Examination Fee $200.00 300.00 per site 

10. Site Inspection Fee $250.00 400.00 per site 

11. Compressed Natural Gas Systems  

12. Vehicle Fueling Sites  

13. Plan Examination Fee $200.00 300.00 per site 

14. Site Inspection Fee $250.00 400.00 per site 

15. Gaseous Hydrogen Systems  

16. Plan Examination Fee $200.00 300.00 per site 

17. Site Inspection Fee $250.00 400.00 per site 

18. Liquefied Hydrogen Systems  

19. 125 to 1,999 Gallon Water Capacity Tank (No state examination or 
inspection fee required.) * 

20. 2000 Gallon Water Capacity and Above or Where the Aggregate Water Capacity will be 4000 Gallons 
or Larger 

21. Plan Examination Fee $200.00 300.00 per site 

22. Site Inspection Fee $250.00 400.00 per site 

23. Plan Revisions and Reinspections  

24. Plan Revision Examination Fee $100.00 160.00 per revised plan 

25. Reinspection Fee As specified in s. Comm 2.04 (2) 

 
Note: Some tanks may be required to be inspected as pressure vessels under the scope of ch. Comm 41. 

 

 

Subchapter V — Material Approvals and Petitions 

 

Comm 2.51 Material approvals. (1) The fee for department review of an application for 
the approval of a material, equipment or product, other than a plumbing product, or for approval of 

an alternate standard, shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.51. 
 
(2) The fee for a special inspection of an installation of a material, equipment or product for 

which an experimental approval has been issued in accordance with s. Comm 20.18 or 61.60 61.50 
shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 
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Table 2.51 

Material Review Fees 

 
Action Fee per Review 

Type of Review 
Chapter Comm 

10 and Voluntary 
Alternate 

Product 
Experimental Alternate 

Standard 

1. New approval $1,000 $1,200 $2,000 $1,200 

2. Renewal of approval with no changes $750 $900 $1,500 NA* 

3. Renewal of approval with changes $1,000 $1,200 $2,000 NA* 

4. Manufacturer’s request for minor 
revision (no extension of approval 
period) 

$200 $200 $200 NA* 

5. Manufacturer’s request for major 
revision (new approval period) 

$1,000 $1,200 $2,000 NA* 

 

*NA means not applicable 

 

 

Comm 2.52 Petitions for variance. (1) GENERAL. The department shall consider and may 

grant a variance from an administrative rule upon receipt of a fee, a completed petition for variance 
form from the owner, and a position statement from the fire department where applicable, provided 
an equivalency is established which meets the intent of the rule being petitioned. 

 
(2) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. COMM 20 TO 25, 

UNIFORM DWELLING CODE, AND CH. COMM 67, RENTAL UNIT ENERGY EFFICIENCY 
CODE. The fee for reviewing petitions for variance on rules under chs. Comm 20 to 25 and Comm 
67 shall be $125.00 175.00 per petition. 

 
(3) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. COMM 60 TO 66, 

WISCONSIN COMMERCIAL BUILDING CODE. (a) The fee for reviewing petitions for variance 
on rules under chs. Comm 60 to 66 shall be $500.00 550.00 per petition. 
 

(b) Except as provided in par. (d), a separate petition shall be submitted for each building, 
even if the buildings are similar. If, after review, it is determined that some or all of the petitions 

may be processed using a precedent, a portion of the variance fee may be refunded in accordance 
with sub. (10) (b). 

 

(c) Where identical petitions are submitted for identical buildings with a common owner on 
a single piece of property, the fee for the first building shall be $500.00 550.00 and the fee for each 

subsequent building shall be submitted in accordance with sub. (10) (b) for precedent petitions. 
 
(d) Where an identical variance is sought for identical buildings with a common owner in a 

single municipality, and all of the buildings are listed on one submitted petition, the fee for the first 
building shall be $500.00 550.00, and the fee for each subsequent building shall be $50. 

 
(4) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON HISTORIC BUILDINGS. The fee for reviewing 

petitions for variance on rules for historic buildings shall be $300.00 per petition. 
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(5) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. COMM 81 TO 87, 

UNIFORM PLUMBING CODE. The fee per petition for processing petitions for variance to rules 
under chs. Comm 81 to 87 shall be $225.00 300.00. 

 

(6) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE UNDER S. 101.055 (4), STATS. The fee for reviewing 
petitions for temporary, experimental and permanent variances under s. 101.055 (4), Stats., shall be 

$300.00 per petition. 
 
(7) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE, OTHER RULES. Except as provided in ch. Comm 5, 

the fee for reviewing petitions for variance on rules of the department, administered by the division 
of safety and buildings and the division of environmental and regulatory services and not 

specifically mentioned under this section, shall be $250.00 300.00 per petition. 
 
(8) PRIORITY PETITIONS. (a) Upon request, the department will process petitions for 

variance on a priority basis. Except as specified in par. (b), the fees for processing these petitions 
shall be double the amounts specified in subs. (2), (3), (5) to (7) and (9). 

 
(b) The fees for processing petitions for variance on rules for historic buildings, pursuant to 

s. 101.121 (3) (b), Stats., shall be as specified in sub. (4). 

 
(9) REVISIONS. (a) Statements or conditions in a petition for variance may be revised 

within one year of the date of the written decision. The fee per petition for revisions to previously 
determined petitions for variance shall be as follows: 

 

1. Petitions on rules under sub. (2) . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50.00 
 

2. Petitions on rules under sub. (5) . . . . . . . . . . . . . $75.00 
 
3. All other petitions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00 

 
(b) For revisions requested after one year from the date of the written decision, a new 

petition for variance shall be submitted. 
 
(10) ADDITIONAL AND REDUCED FEES. (a) For complex petitions for variance which 

require more than 8 hours to review and process, an additional fee may be charged at the rate of 
$60.00 80.00 per hour for each hour in excess of 8 hours.  For precedent petitions for variance 

which require more than 3 hours to review and process, an additional fee may be charged at the rate 
of $60.00 80.00 per hour for each hour in excess of 3 hours. 

 

(b) For petitions processed under sub. (3) or (4), a refund may be returned.  The minimum 
fee per petition charged by the department shall be based on the following schedule: 

 
1. The minimum fee for a petition for variance that is returned without decision before 

assignment for staff review shall be 25% of the required fee. 

 
2. The minimum fee for a petition for variance that is returned without decision after staff 

review shall be 25% of the required fee plus $60.00 80.00 per hour of review and processing time. 
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3. The minimum fee for a non-priority petition for variance based on precedence shall be 

50% of the required fee. 
 
4. The minimum fee for a priority petition for variance based on precedence shall be 75% of 

the required fee. 
 

 

Subchapter VI — Building Water Systems 

 

Comm 2.61 Miscellaneous inspections, reviews and services. (1) SPECIAL PLUMBING 
INSPECTIONS. (a) The fees for plumbing inspections for sanitary districts or other special purpose 

districts shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 
 

(b) The department may assess a fee determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2) for a 

field inspection for a department representative to conduct a soil evaluation. 
 

(2) REVISIONS. The fee for revisions to previously approved plumbing and private sewage 
plans shall be $75.00 85.00 per plan.  This fee shall apply when plans are revised for reasons other 
than those which were requested by the department. 

 
(5 3) MISCELLANEOUS SERVICES. When the department provides goods or services not 

specifically covered in this section, fees may be charged to organizations requesting such goods and 
services. 
 

Comm 2.635 Lot restriction waivers. The fee for any lot restriction waiver issued by the 
department shall be $80.00 100.00 per lot. 

 

Comm 2.64 Plumbing systems. (1) GENERAL. Plan examination fees for preliminary or 
complete plans shall accompany the plans and specifications when submitted. If the department 

determines, upon review of the plans, that inadequate fees were provided, the necessary additional 
fees shall be provided prior to departmental approval. 

 
(2) EXAMINATION FEES. The plan examination fee shall be determined in accordance 

with Table 2.64-1. The minimum fee shall be $60.00 85.00 per plan. 
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Table 2.64-1 

Plan Examination Fees for Plumbing Systems 

 

Plan Type Fee 
1. Sanitary drain and vent system $40.00 50.00 per inch diameter of each bldg. 

sewer, or for multiple sewer connections serving 
a single building the fee may be calculated per 
sub. (3) (a) 

2. Sanitary building sewer only, no drain and vent $25.00 30.00 per inch diameter of each bldg. 
sewer 

3. Building water distribution system $40.00 50.00 per inch diameter of each water 
service, or for multiple water service connections 
serving a single building the fee may be 
calculated per sub. (3) (b) 

4. Building water service only, no water distribution 
system 

$25.00 30.00per inch diameter of each water 
service 

*5. Car wash interceptor $70.00 85.00 per interceptor 
*6. Clearwater drain system $10.00 15.00 per inch diameter of each 

clearwater drain system 
*7. Garage catch basin $70.00 85.00 per basin 
*8. Grease interceptor $70.00 85.00 per interceptor 
*9. Oil interceptor $70.00 85.00 per interceptor 

*10. Sanitary dump station $70.00 85.00 per station 
*11. Chemical waste system $70.00 85.00 per system 
13. Alternate plumbing system $400 800.00 per system 
14. Mobile home parks Manufactured home communities and campground/recreational vehicle parks: 
a. 1−25 sites $300.00 
b. 26−50 sites $350.00 
c. 51−125 sites $400.00 
d. Over 125 sites $500.00 

15. Private water main $25.00 30.00 per inch diameter 
16. Cross connection control devices:  
a. Reduced pressure principle backflow preventer $125.00 200.00 per device 
b. Reduced pressure detector backflow preventer $125.00 200.00 per device 
c. Pressure vacuum breaker assembly $125.00 200.00 per device 
d. Back siphonage backflow vacuum breaker $125.00 200.00 per device 

17. Sanitary private interceptor main sewers, 
determined on the largest diameter of each 
interceptor main sewer 

$25.00 30.00per inch diameter 

18. Stormwater systems:  
a. Less than or equal to one acre drainage area $10.00 15.00 per inch of largest diameter storm 

sewer, or for multiple sewer discharge points for 
a single site the fee may be calculated per sub. (3) 
(c) 

b. > one or equal to 5 acres drainage area $350.00 
c. > 5 acres to < or equal to 15 acres drainage area $400.00 500.00 
d. > 15 acres drainage area $500.00 600.00 

19. Experimental plumbing system $500.00 1,000.00 per system 
20. Water or wastewater treatment systems, other 

than POWTS, designed to achieve compliance 
with Table 82.70−1 

Amount as specified in s. Comm 2.04 (1) 

21. Stormwater and clearwater infiltration systems 
for public buildings or facilities 

$100.00 200.00 per system** 
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* For table entries 5. to 11., no additional fee would be required if submitted with the respective drain and vent system.  

** This fee is in addition to building stormwater and clearwater plumbing systems. 
 

(3) EXAMINATION FEES FOR ADDITIONS AND REMODELING. When new or 
relocated fixtures or both are connected to the existing piping inside a building, the fee shall be 

determined in accordance with the following procedures: 
 

(a) Sanitary building sewer, drain and vent. 1. Total all of the drainage fixture units which 
are being added or relocated. 

 

2. Refer to s. Comm 82.30 Table 82.30-2, and determine the horizontal drain size which 
would be required if all new or relocated fixtures discharged through one pipe. 

 
Note: Disregard the asterisk limitation regarding water closets. This pipe size is  used for determining the fee 

only and does not necessarily mean this pipe size is used in actual design or installation. 

 
3. Determine the fee based on pipe diameter in Table 2.64-1, entry line 1. 

 
(b) Building water distribution system. 1. Total all of the water supply fixture units which 

are being added or relocated, using s. Comm 82.40 Tables 82.40-1 and 2, and convert to gallons per 

minute (GPM) in accordance with s. Comm 82.40 Table 82.40-3. 
 

2. The fees shall be determined in accordance with GPM demand of the new or relocated 

fixtures as specified in Table 2.64-2. 
 

Table 2.64-2 

Plan Examination Fees for Building Water 

Distribution Systems 

 

GPM Fee 

1. 1 - 6 $20.00 25.00 

2. 7 - 12 $30.00 35.00 
3. 13 - 21 $40.00 50.00 

4. 22 - 31 $50.00 60.00 
5. 32 - 46 $60.00 75.00 
6. 47 - 77 $80.00 100.00 

7. 78 - 119 $100.00 125.00 
8. 120 - 170 $120.00 150.00 

9. 171 - 298 $140.00 175.00 

 
 

(c) Building storm sewer and drainage system. 1. Total each different type of area which the 

new or relocated drains serve and convert to GPM using ch. Comm 82 Tables 82.36-1, 2 and 3.  To 
this, add the GPM discharge from any added or relocated clear water drains located inside the 

building. 
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2. Refer to ch. Comm 82 Table 82.36-4, using the column for 1/4 inch per foot pitch, to 

determine the horizontal drain size which would be required if all new or relocated fixtures 
discharged through one pipe. Use this pipe size for determining the fee. 

 

3. Determine the fee based on pipe diameter in Table 2.64-1, entry 5 line 18.a. 
 

Comm 2.645 Cross connection control assembly registration. A registration fee of 
$125.00 200.00 per assembly shall be submitted to the department in accordance with s. Comm 
82.20 (1) (c). 

 

Comm 2.65 Private onsite wastewater treatment systems. (1) GENERAL. The plan 

examination fee as determined under this section shall accompany the plans and specifications for 
the proposed design of a private onsite wastewater treatment system at a specific site.  If the 
department determines, upon review of the plans, that inadequate fees were provided, the 

department will not make a final determination on the plans until the appropriate fees are received. 
 

(2) EXAMINATION FEES. The plan examination fee for a private onsite wastewater 
treatment system submitted to the department for review shall be determined in accordance with 
Table 2.65, rounded to the nearest dollar. 
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Table 2.65 

Plan Review 

Private Onsite Wastewater Treatment Systems 

 

Type of Project Fee 

1. All treatment components are approved under s. Comm 
84.10 (2) or (3): 

 

a. Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:  
b. 1,000 gpd or less $175.00 250.00 
c. 1,001−2,000 gpd $225.00 325.00 

d. 2,001−5,000 gpd $275.00 400.00 
e. greater than 5,000 gpd $300.00 450.00 plus $0.05 

0.08 for each gpd over 
5,000 

2. One or more treatment components are not approved under s. 

Comm 84.10 (2) or (3): 

 

a. Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:  

b. 1,000 gpd or less $300.00 450.00 
c. 1,001−2,000 gpd $400.00 600.00 
d. 2,001−5,000 gpd $500.00 750.00 

e. greater than 5,000 gpd $600.00 900.00 plus $0.05 
0.08 for each gpd over 

5,000 
3. Holding tanks approved under s. Comm 84.10 (2) or (3):  
a. Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:  

b. 5,000 gpd or less $60.00 90.00 
c. 5,001−10,000 gpd $100.00 150.00 

d. greater than 10,000 gpd $150.00 225.00 
4. Holding tanks not approved under s. Comm 84.10 (2) or (3):  
a. Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:  

b. 5,000 gpd or less $120.00 180.00 
c. 5,001−10,000 gpd $200.00 300.00 

d. greater than 10,000 gpd $300.00 450.00 

 
 

(3) DATA REVIEW. The fee to review soil saturation monitoring studies or reports in 

accordance with s. Comm 85.60 (2) or (3) shall be $100.00 240.00 per site. 
 

Comm 2.66 Product and standard approvals. (1) APPROVALS. (a) Except as provided 
in par. (b), the fee for the request of a review by the department for a plumbing product under s. 
Comm 84.10 (2) or for an alternate standard under s. Comm 81.20 (2) shall be determined in 

accordance with Table 2.66. 
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Table 2.66 

Plumbing Product and Alternate Standard Review Fees 

 

Product or Standard Fee 

Type of Review 

  New 

Review 
Revision 

or 

Renewal 

1. Alternate standards $400 500* $200 250* 

2. Chemical or biochemical treatment for POWTS $200 250 $100 125 

3. Health care plumbing appliance $200 250 $100 125 

4. Chemical or physical restoration processes for POWTS $200 250 $100 125 

5. Prefabricated holding or treatment components for POWTS $200 250 $100 125 

6. Prefabricated plumbing $200 250 $100 125 

7. Water treatment device $200 250 $100 125 

8. Wastewater treatment device $200 250 $100 125 

9. Commercial water vending or dispensing machines $200 250 $100 125 

10. Exterior grease interceptors $200 250 $100 125 
 

* Per standard. 

 
(b) The fee for a minor revision to a previously issued approval for an exterior grease 

interceptor, or prefabricated holding or septic tank may treatment component for a POWTS shall be 

$45.00 70.00 plus $5.00 10.00 for each approval affected in lieu of the fee specified in Table 2.66. 
For the purpose of this subdivision, a minor revision shall be considered a modification that does 

not affect the function, retention capacity, basic shape or size of the tank.  The expiration date of the 
original approval shall not be extended if the minor revision is approved. 

 

(c) 1. The fee for the request of an alternate approval to be issued by the department for a 
plumbing product shall be $300.00 400.00. 

 
2. a. Except as provided in subd. 2. b., the fee for the request of a revision or renewal of an 

alternate approval to be issued by the department for a plumbing product shall be $150.00 200.00. 

 
b. The fee for a minor revision to a previously issued alternate approval for an exterior 

grease interceptor, holding, septic or other sewage treatment tank may shall be $45.00 70.00 plus 
$5.00 10.00 for each approval affected in lieu of the fee specified in subd. 2. a.  For the purpose of 
this subparagraph, a minor revision shall be considered a modification that does not affect the 

function, retention capacity, basic shape or size of the tank, or the basis of the approval being 
classified as an alternate.  The expiration date of the original approval shall not be extended if the 

minor revision is approved. 
 
(d) 1. The fee for the request of an experimental approval to be issued by the department for 

a plumbing product shall be $500.00 1,000.00. 
 

2. The fee for the request of a revision or renewal of an experimental approval to be issued 
by the department for a plumbing material or product shall be $250.00 500.00. 
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(e) The fee for a special inspection of an installation of a product, for which an experimental 

approval has been issued in accordance with s. Comm 84.50, shall be determined in accordance 
with s. Comm 2.04 (2). 

 

(2) POWTS APPROVALS AND MANUFACTURER CHANGES. (a) 1. The fee for the 
request to have a method or technology reviewed as a POWTS holding, treatment or dispersal 

component or site constructed private onsite wastewater treatment system component by the 
department, in accordance with s. Comm 84.10 (3), shall be $300.00 400.00 per method, 
technology, or site constructed component. 

 
2.  The fee for the request of a revision or renewal of a method or technology reviewed as a 

POWTS holding, treatment or dispersal component or site constructed private onsite wastewater 
treatment system component by the department, in accordance with s. Comm 84.10 (3), shall be 
$150.00 per method, technology, or site constructed component. 

 
 (b) The fee for the request of a change of manufacturer’s name or address on an approval 

issued by the department for a plumbing product shall be $15.00 20.00.  The expiration date of the 
original approval shall not be extended. 
 

Comm 2.67 Sanitary permits. (1) FEE. (a) Pursuant to s. 145.19 (5), Stats., the fee for a 
sanitary permit issued by a governmental unit shall be at least $116.00 141.00. 

 
Note: The sanitary permit fee includes a $25.00 groundwater fee, required by s. 145.19 (6), Stats., that is 

forwarded by the department of commerce to the department  of natural resources. 

 
(b) The fee for a sanitary permit issued by the department under s. Comm 83.21 shall be 

$200.00 300.00. 

 
(2) PORTION FORWARDED TO THE DEPARTMENT. The governmental unit 

responsible for the regulation of private onsite wastewater treatment systems shall forward to the 
department $75.00 100.00 of each sanitary permit fee, determined in accord with s. 145.19, Stats. 

 
Note: The $75.00 100.00 includes the $25.00 groundwater fee, required by s. 145.19 (6), Stats., that is 

forwarded to the department of natural resources. 

 

Comm 2.675 Privy registrations. (1) VAULT PRIVY. The fee for registering a vault privy 
that is to serve a state-owned facility shall be $40.00 70.00. 

 
(2) PIT PRIVY. The fee for registering a pit privy that is to serve a state-owned facility shall 

be $60.00 90.00. 

 

Comm 2.68 Public swimming pool and water attraction plan review and inspection 

fees. (1) Plan examination and inspection fees for public swimming pools, water attractions and 
associated slides shall accompany plans and specifications when submitted to the department for 
review. If the department determines, upon review of the plans, that inadequate fees were received, 

the necessary additional fees shall be received by the department prior to plan review and 
determination. 
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(2) Except as provided in sub. (3), plan examination and inspection fees for the construction 

or modification of public swimming pools, water attractions and associated slides shall be as listed 
in Tables 2.68-1 and 2.68-2. 

 

(3) (b) Alternate and experimental system design review. Fees for the review and approval 
of alternate and experimental system designs shall be as specified in Table 2.68-1.  A fee for the 

minor revision to a previously approved alternate or experimental system design may be assessed.  
The expiration date of the original approval may not be extended if a minor revision is approved. 

 

(d) Reinspection fee. A fee of $150.00 225.00 may be assessed for a second or subsequent 
final inspection where the initial final inspection is scheduled and partially conducted by the 

inspector, and the pool installation is found to be incomplete. 
 

Table 2.68-1 

Plan Review and Inspection Fees for Public Swimming Pools, Water Attractions and 

Associated Slides Not Located in Municipalities that Where Department Staff Perform 

Construction Inspections 

 

Pool Type or Water Attraction 

Type of Pool, Water Attraction or 

Equipment 

Fee Type 

Initial 

Construction 

Modification Revision to 

Previously 

Approved Plans 

1. Pool Slide, Drop Slide or Water Slide, 

functional requirements a, b 

$270.00 400.00 $120.00 180.00 $120.00 180.00 

2. Pool Slide, Drop Slide or Water Slide, 
structural requirements c 

$300.00 450.00 $120.00 180.00 $120.00 180.00 

3. Public Swimming Pool, gutter type $900.00 

1,350.00 

$500.00 750.00 $120.00 180.00 

4. Public Swimming Pool, skimmer type $750.00 
1,125.00 

$500.00 750.00 $120.00 180.00 

5. Water Attraction (including interactive 

play attractions) 

$900.00 

1,350.00 

$500.00 750.00 $120.00 180.00 

6. Public Whirlpool $750.00 
1,125.00 

$500.00 750.00 $120.00 180.00 

7. Alternate and Experimental Design $1050.00 
1,575.00 

$675.00 
1,000.00 

$150.00 225.00 

 
a No additional fee required if submitted with public swimming pool or water attraction. 

b Fee required per submittal of pool slides or drop slides. 

c Applies to pool slides over 6 feet (1.8 m) in height measured from the slide entrance to the deck of the pool or water attraction. 
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Table 2.68-2 

Plan Review Fees For Public Swimming Pools, Water Attractions and Associated Slides  

Located in Municipalities That Where Department Staff Do Not Perform Construction 

Inspections 

 

Pool Type or Water Attraction 

Type of Pool, Water Attraction or 

Equipment 

Fee Type 

Initial 

Construction 

Modification Revision to 

Previously 

Approved Plans 

1. Pool Slide, Drop Slide or Water Slide, 

functional requirements a, b 

$270.00 400.00 $120.00 180.00 $120.00 180.00 

2. Pool Slide, Drop Slide or Water Slide, 
structural requirements c 

$300.00 450.00 $120.00 180.00 $120.00 180.00 

3. Public Swimming Pool, gutter type $600.00 900.00 $200.00 300.00 $120.00 180.00 

4. Public Swimming Pool, skimmer type $450.00 675.00 $200.00 300.00 $120.00 180.00 

5. Water Attraction $600.00 900.00 $200.00 300.00 $120.00 180.00 

6. Public Whirlpool $450.00 675.00 $200.00 300.00 $120.00 180.00 

7. Alternate and Experimental Design $750.00 

1,125.00 

$375.00 560.00 $150.00 225.00 

 
a No additional fee required if submitted with public swimming pool or water attraction. 

b Fee required per submittal of pool slides or drop slides. 

c Applies to pool slides over 6 feet (1.8 m) in height measured from the slide entrance to the deck of the pool or water 

attraction. 
 

 
SECTION 2.  Comm 5.02 (5) is amended read: 

 
Comm 5.02 (5) A fee of $10.00 15.00 shall be charged to replace a lost or destroyed license, 

certification or registration. 
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SECTION 3.  Comm 5.02 Table 5.02 is amended read: 

 
 

Table 5.02 

FEES 
  

License, Certification or Registration Category 

 

Type 

 

Application Fee 

 

Examination 

Fee 

License, 

Certification or 

Registration Fee 

 Subchapter II     

1. Class 1 Blaster License none $30 $100 

2. Class 2 Blaster License none $30 $100 

3. Class 3 Blaster License none $30 $100 

4. Class 4 Blaster License none $30 $100 

5. Class 5 Blaster License none $30 $100 

6. Class 6 Blaster License none $30 $100 

7. Class 7 Blaster License none $30 $100 

8. Fireworks Manufacturer License none NA $70 

 Subchapter III     

9. Dwelling Contractor Certification $10 15 NA $25 

9m. 10. Dwelling Contractor Qualifier Certification $10 15 NA $30 

10. 11. Dwelling Contractor – Restricted Certification $10 15 NA $25 

11. 12. Manufactured Home Manufacturer License $10 15 NA $900 

11e. 13. Manufactured Home Dealer - Main Business License none NA $200 

11m. 14. Manufactured Home Dealer - Branch License none NA $200 

11s. 15. Manufactured Home Salesperson License none NA $16 

11w. 16. Manufactured Home Installer License $10 15 NA $100 

12. 17. Soil Tester Certification $25 35 $50 75 $240 300 

13. 18. Welder Registration none NA $35 

14. 19. Weld Test Conductor - Physical Certification none $20 $80 

15. 20. Weld Test Conductor - Radiographic Certification none $20 $80 

16. 21. POWTS Maintainer Registration $10 15 NA $60 90 

 Subchapter IV     

17. 22. Electrical Contractor Certification $35 NA $200 

18. 23. Electrical Contractor - Restricted Certification $35 NA $200 

19. 24. Master Electrician Certification $35 $30 $200 

20. 25. Journeyman Electrician Certification $35 $30 $100 

21. 26. Beginning Electrician Certification $35 NA $80 

 Subchapter V     

22. 27. Automatic Fire Sprinkler Contractor License $25 $100 $2000 

23. 28. Journeyman Automatic Fire Sprinkler Fitter License $10 $20 $180 

24. 29. Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Apprentice Registration none NA $15 

25. 30. Automatic Fire Sprinkler Contractor - 

Maintenance 

Registration $25 $50 $400 

26. 31. Automatic Fire Sprinkler Fitter - Maintenance Registration $10 NA $60 

27. 32. Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Tester Registration $10 15 $20 25 $180 

 Subchapter VI     

28. 33. Boiler-Pressure Vessel Inspector Certification none NA $120 

29. 34. In-Service Field Inspector Certification none NA $120 

30. 35. Commercial Building Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

31. 36. Commercial Electrical Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

32. 37. Commercial Plumbing Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

33. 38. UDC-Construction Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

34. 39. UDC-Electrical Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

35. 40. UDC-HVAC Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

36. 41. UDC-Plumbing Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

37. 42. UDC Inspection Agency Registration $10 15 NA $30 40 

38. 43. Soil Erosion Inspector Certification $10 15 NA $30 40 

39. 44. Elevator Inspector License none NA $120 

40. 45. POWTS Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

41. 46. Rental Weatherization Inspector Certification $10 15 $20 25 $30 40 

42. 47. Tank System Inspector Certification $20 $15 $50 
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Table 5.02 

(Continued) 

 
  

License, Certification or Registration Category 

 

Type 

 

Application Fee 

 

Examination 

Fee 

License, 

Certification or 

Registration Fee 

 Subchapter VII     

43. 48. HVAC Contractor Registration $10 15 NA $100 160 

44. 49. HVAC Qualifier Certification $10 15 $20 25 $60 

45. 50. Refrigerant Handling Technician Certification none NA $20 

 Subchapter VIII     

46. 51. PECFA Consulting Firm Registration $20 NA $50 

47. 52. PECFA Consultant Registration $20 NA $50 

48. 53. Tank Specialty Firm Registration $20 NA $50 

49. 54. Tank-System Site Assessor Certification $20 $15 $50 

50. 55. Aboveground Tank System Installer Certification $20 $15 $50 

51. 56. Underground Tank System Installer Certification $20 $15 $50 

52. 57. Tank System Liner Certification $20 $15 $50 

53. 58. Tank System Remover-Cleaner Certification $20 $15 $50 

54. 59. Tank System Tightness Tester Certification $20 NA $50 

54g. 60. Cathodic Protection Tester Certification $20 NA $50 

54r. 61. Cathodic Protection Expert Certification $20 NA $50 

 Subchapter IX      

55. 62. Master Plumber License $20 $30 $500 

56. 63. Master Plumber-Restricted Service License $20 $30 $500 

57. 64. Master Plumber-Restricted Appliance License $20 $30 $500 

58. 65. Journeyman Plumber License $20 $20 $180 

59. 66. Journeyman Plumber-Restricted Service License $20 $20 $180 

60. 67. Journeyman Plumber-Restricted Appliance License $20 $20 $180 

61. 68. Plumbing Apprentice Registration none NA $15 

62. 69. Plumbing Learner-Restricted Appliance Registration none NA $15 

63. 70. Plumbing Learner-Restricted Service Registration none NA $15 

64. 71. Utility Contractor License $10 $30 $500 

65. 72. Pipelayer Registration $10 15 NA $180 

66. 73. Cross Connection Control Tester Registration $10 15 NA $180 

 Subchapter X     

67. 74. Elevator Contractor License $15 NA $100 

68. 75. Elevator Mechanic License $15 $50 $90 

69. 76. Elevator Mechanic-restricted License $15 $50 $90 

70. 77. Elevator Apprentice Registration $15 NA $15 

71. 78. Elevator Apprentice-restricted Registration $15 NA $15 

72. 79. Elevator Helper Registration $15 NA $15 

73. 80. Lift Mechanic License $15 $50 $90 

74. 81. Lift Apprentice Registration $15 NA $15 

75. 82. Lift Helper Registration $15 NA $15 
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(END) 

 

 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
EFFECTIVE DATE 

 

 Pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., these rules shall take effect on the first day of the 
month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. 

 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

 


